Chocolate Caramel Slice Recipe

I love, love, LOVE caramel slice, and this is a doddle to make.  I have tried with varying success in the past to make my own caramel, this way I believe is foolproof, and I’ll no doubt make just the sauce in the future (I’m seeing banoffee pie amongst other things!).  This recipe is taken from The Big Book of Baking.

This makes twelve generous slices.

Ingredients

For the shortbread base

115g / 4oz butter, plus a little extra for greasing
175g / 6oz plain flour
55g/ 2oz golden caster sugar

For the caramel sauce

175g / 6oz butter
115g / 4oz golden caster sugar
3 tablespoons golden syrup
400g / 14oz can condensed milk

For the chocolate topping

200g / 7oz plain chocolate

Method

  • Preheat your oven to gas mark 4 / 180degC / 350degF.
  • Grease and line a 9 inch square cake tin.  I don’t have one so went with my round 9 inch diameter loose bottomed fluted flan tin.
  • In a large mixing bowl add the shortbread base ingredients-the flour, sugar and butter and mix with a hand held blender/bamix(I have one of these and it’s amazing!)  until well blended and starting to bind.  The book recommends you do this in a food processor if you have one, but if you don’t have anything electrical to help you along, you can of course do this by hand with a wooden spoon, slightly harder going though.   Press into your dish until evenly covered.  The firmer you pack this the firmer your shortbread will be, it will be more inclined to crumble if it is loose.

  • Bake in the oven for 20 to 25 minutes until golden brown.
  • Whilst this is cooking start the caramel sauce.  In a non-stick pan place the condensed milk, sugar, golden syrup and butter(chopped into rough chunks). This process can be a bit lively so make sure you have room in your pan for some bubbling! Heat gently until the butter melts into the sauce, then bring to the boil whilst stirring continuosly, then simmer for approximately eight minutes, stirring all the while, until the sauce is lovely and thick,  and the colour darker and looking like caramel. If you drizzle some sauce with the spoon you should see the trail linger. There is a point after a few minutes where the sauce starts to thicken, keep going though as it thickens further.  I had got a little ahead of myself at this stage and was still waiting on the base to brown, if you are too make sure you regularly stir your sauce as it cools.

  • Pour over the shortbread base, and chill in the fridge until set.  I gave it about four hours as I went out, it was perfect at this point. I would assume it will need a couple of hours minimum.
  • Once the caramel has set, melt the chocolate in a bowl over a pan of simmering water, allow to cool and pour over the caramel. (If the chocolate is too hot it will melt the caramel again slightly!)  Chill again until the chocolate has set, then cut into pieces, and enjoy!

As I had made this in a circle tin it meant my slices crumbled a little at the tip, but I’m okay with the rustic look. It has made me realise I need to add a square tin to my cupboard though!

This entry was posted in Baking and Desserts, Sweet Treats and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chocolate Caramel Slice Recipe

  1. I agree! And I could not have said it any better! Keep up the good work my friend.

Leave a Reply

