Soda Bread Recipe, no yeast, no proving, no kneading!

Having been keeping abreast of the UK weather and seeing the abundance of early snow, I felt an easy go-to bread recipe might be well received.  This recipe was recently given to me by an old friend who has been making this for several years at the restaurant she works at. I’ve made this once with white flour and 50g oats and it was lovely, I could afford to add a lot more oats though so please don’t feel these are hard and fast rules when making.  This bread is a great dunker in soup or stew, my friend recommends adding some paprika, thyme and sesame seeds and serving with a Chorizo stew, but as you can make this plain or add seasonings to it, what you have with it is down to you!  Thank you Sylvia for this, it’s fabulous.

1lb /  450 g malthouse flour ( or a brown flour, or a white flour and you can add a handful of oats 1-2 oz / 50 -100g)

1 teaspoon bicarbanate of soda, 1 teaspoon cream of tartar (I used 2 teaspoons of baking soda)

1tsp salt

1 teaspoon sugar, white / brown /dark muscavado -whatever you have although dark muscavado is the top choice

2 tablespoons of olive oil

330ml buttermilk. This is what the original recipe called for but we used milk soured by warming the milk, adding some lemon juice and leaving to cool before using.  Buttermilk is pricey and can be hard to get (especially if snowed in!).

Top tip * If you’ve forgotten to sour milk you can warm and sour half the milk and then cool it down with the remainder of the milk.*

  • Pre-heat your oven to gas mark 7 / 220degC / 425degF
  • Into a big mixing bowl sift the flour and add the rest of the dry ingredients – baking soda / cream of tartar and bicarbonate of soda, salt, sugar, and stir.  (add any herbs and spices at this stage too)
  • Make a well in the middle and pour in the milk and oil. Mix well with a spoon. You want it to come away from the sides of the bowl.  If it’s too wet add more flour until it comes clean away. Shape into a ball and place on a floured baking tray. Score a cross and bake for about 40 minutes.

This entry was posted in Baking and Desserts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Soda Bread Recipe, no yeast, no proving, no kneading!

  1. Jan W. says:

    Hi SalsaRae

    I picked up your fabulous blog via the Strictly Exiles site.

    I have been wanting to dip my toe into world of bread making, and this recipe is the one to get me started… can’t wait to try it – sometime this week, I hope, as I need to buy some cream of tartar and a loaf tin, first.

    Great tip about the buttermilk… I haven’t come upon that option before. I’ll let you know how I get on with the soda bread.

    Happy New Year!
    Jan (MissingLilia)

    • Hi Jan! Happy New Year to you!
      Don’t worry about using a loaf tin, just shape it into a rough round and plonk it onto a baking sheet that you’ve floured lightly! It’s a very good dunker. My friend says it makes great toast smeared with marmalade, of which I am having a bash at tomorrow as I have about 3 kilos of clementines that need using up!

Leave a Reply

